Stress

On This Page

To access resources on coping with stress, go to our resource selector.

Overview

It’s normal to go through periods of stress, whether it’s caused by school, work, finances, your relationships with others, or something else. Moderate levels of stress can actually be helpful, giving us the energy and focus to deal with the task at hand. But when we’re subject to intense stress, or stress that’s chronic (i.e. continuing over a long period of time), it can start to have negative effects on our well-being. 

Although you might not be able to control or change the situation that’s causing stress, there are techniques that you can learn that can help you manage it and avoid being overwhelmed by it.

Resources for Coping with Stress

What is it like?

We tend to think about stress as an entirely negative experience, but that’s not necessarily the case. For one, when we feel stressed about something, it generally means that we care a lot about it—and that’s a good thing. And in the short term, stress can actually be beneficial: it moves us to action and helps us focus on the task at hand. These temporary bursts of stress are known as acute stress.

Acute stress is a natural part of life. Unfortunately, in the modern world, many people experience long-term (or chronic) stress. Chronic stress can be caused by a wide range of things, including school, work, relationships, or living in a dangerous environment. Because our bodies did not evolve to endure stress over long periods of time, chronic stress can lead to physical side-effects, including: 

  • Fatigue

  • Irritability

  • Insomnia and sleep disturbances

  • Low mood and depression

  • Excessive worry and anxiety

Steps towards wellness

1. Learn healthy coping strategies

We can’t always control the sources of our stress, but we can learn positive ways to manage it.

2. Make time for self-care

Be kind to yourself through simple things, like cooking a healthy meal or taking a relaxing bath.

3. Slow down & be mindful

Even a quick, 5-minute mindfulness practice can help you stay calm & focused, without getting overwhelmed by everything that’s going on.

4. Learn how to say “no”

Know your limits—whether at work or in your personal life—and don’t be afraid to turn things down when you’ve already got a lot on your plate.

Helping someone cope with stress

When someone you care about is dealing with a lot of stress, it’s tempting to jump straight into problem-solving. But it’s just as important (if not more important) to show them that you empathize with their situation, and that you’re there to support them. Talk to them about how they’re doing, let them vent, and validate their feelings. You could also point them towards sources of community support where they can talk to people who are going through something similar. 

Keep an eye out for signs that somebody is dealing with excessive levels of worry or anxiety-related issues. If somebody is experiencing things like uncontrollable worry, panic attacks or is otherwise feeling overwhelmed by stress, it might be useful to connect them with mental health resources, such as phone counselling or self-guided exercises

Looking for more tools to boost your wellbeing?

Sign up to access expert-approved wellness programs, plus tools to measure and track your success.

Create an account

Did you find this resource useful?

You might like to try these resources

Le stress

Sur Cette Page

Accédez à notre menu de ressources pour trouver des moyens de faire face au stress.

En bref

Qu’il soit lié aux études, au travail, à des difficultés financières, à des relations personnelles ou professionnelles ou à d’autres facteurs, le stress est un sentiment naturel qui se manifeste à certains moments de la vie. Un stress modéré peut en fait être bénéfique, car il nous apporte l’énergie et la concentration nécessaires pour faire face à des situations qui nous sont nouvelles ou quelque peu difficiles. Mais lorsque l’on est pris par un stress intense ou chronique, on en subit les conséquences, notamment sur la santé et le bien-être.

Certes, nous ne pouvons pas toujours agir sur les situations qui provoquent le stress, mais il y a des techniques que nous pouvons apprendre pour gérer le stress et éviter qu’il ne devienne envahissant.

Ressources pour Faire face au stress

Comment cela se manifeste ?

Nous avons tendance à considérer le stress comme une expérience entièrement négative, mais ce n’est pas nécessairement le cas. En fait, le stress, à court terme, est considéré comme étant bénéfique, car il nous pousse à agir et à donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes. Ces doses de stress temporaires sont appelées stress aigu.

Le stress aigu est un événement tout à fait naturel de la vie. Malheureusement, dans notre monde contemporain, de nombreuses personnes sont exposées à un stress à long terme (ou chronique). Le stress chronique peut être causé par un large éventail de facteurs, notamment l’école, le travail, les relations ou l’environnement. Notre corps n’ayant pas évolué pour supporter le stress sur de longues périodes, le stress chronique peut causer des effets secondaires physiques, notamment :

  • Fatigue

  • Irritabilité

  • Insomnie et troubles du sommeil

  • Mauvaise humeur et déprime

  • Inquiétude et anxiété excessives

Des pas vers le bien-être

1. Découvrez des stratégies saines pour surmonter le stress

Nous ne pouvons pas toujours contrôler les sources de notre stress, mais nous pouvons apprendre à le gérer de façon positive.

2. Prenez soin de vous-même

Vous pouvez prendre soin de vous-même par de simples gestes, comme cuisiner un repas sain ou prendre un bain relaxant.

3. Ralentissez et atteignez un état de conscience réfléchie

Même un court exercice de 5 minutes sur l’état de conscience réfléchie peut vous aider à garder votre calme et à vous concentrer sans vous sentir dépassé par les événements.

4. Apprenez à dire « non »

Assurez-vous de connaître vos limites professionnelles et personnelles, et n’hésitez pas à dire non lorsque vous avez déjà trop de pain sur la planche.

Aider quelqu’un à faire face au stress

Lorsqu’une personne qui vous est chère est confrontée à un stress important, il est tentant de passer en mode résolution de problèmes. Mais en réalité, le mieux est de commencer par lui montrer que vous comprenez sa situation et que vous êtes là pour la soutenir. Prenez des nouvelles d’elle, donnez-lui l’occasion de se défouler et validez ses sentiments. Vous pouvez également l’orienter vers des ressources de soutien communautaire où elle pourra parler à des gens qui vivent une situation similaire.

Surveillez les signes qui montrent qu’une personne est confrontée à des niveaux excessifs d’inquiétude ou de troubles d’anxiété. Si vous constatez qu’une personne est victime d’un état de stress incontrôlable ou de crises de panique, il peut être utile de lui mettre à disposition des ressources de santé mentale (telles que des services de conseil par téléphone ou des exercices auto-guidés.

Vous souhaitez obtenir plus d’outils pour améliorer votre bien-être?

Inscrivez-vous pour avoir accès à nos programmes de bien-être approuvés par des experts et à nos outils vous permettant d’évaluer vos résultats et d’en faire le suivi.

Créer un compte

Avez-vous trouvé cette resource utile?

Vous aimeriez peut-être consultez ces resources